Pies for Pavement- Cherry Cream Cheese Pie

Cherry_Cream_Cheese_Pie-4As part of our “Pies for Pavement” Fundraiser we talked with locals about desserts that they make.  Desserts, especially pies, are a part of every family get together I’ve ever been to and are a huge part of our local heritage. Have you ever wondered if there was a story behind that homemade pie that you love? I bet there is! The next time you have the opportunity to dig into your favorite dessert, take a few minutes to find out the story behind it!

The pie that Linda Ford is most known for is her Cherry Cream Cheese Pie. Linda started making this as a young woman.

“My sister brought the recipe home from her Home Economics class one day and it was really good so I decided to make it.”

Now it’s been part of my family’s Christmas tradition, I make it every Christmas. Everyone always loves it and it is really easy to make!”

She continues to make the pie as part of her family’s Christmas tradition. She said that her children and married grandchildren have come to expect the pie as part of their Christmas gifts.

“The pie has become such a part of our Christmas tradition that they would be upset if I didn’t make them. I love that they expect them and how much they enjoy them. It is nice giving a Christmas gift that I make myself.”

When I asked Linda about her favorite childhood dessert, her face lit up as she talked about her Mom’s peanut butter cookies.

“My mom used to make peanut butter cookies and she would have them made when we would get home from school. I went to see her a few weeks ago and she had some made and they were just so delicious. I just really love her peanut butter cookies because they bring back a lot of really good memories from when I was a kid.”

 

Cherry Cream Cheese Pie

 Graham Cracker Crust

8-oz package cream cheese- softened to room temperature

1 can of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk

1/3 cup of lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat the cream cheese until smooth, pour in milk, add other ingredients and mix. Pour the mixture in to the crust. Chill for one hour or so, top with cherry pie filling, then enjoy!


Image

Thank you, Linda, for sharing your pie with us!

One Comment on “Pies for Pavement- Cherry Cream Cheese Pie”

  1. […] Linda Ford’s Cherry Cream Cheese Pie […]


Leave a Reply

